Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen

Mealmarket Street, Aberdeen, AB24 5SW

Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen - Review

Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen - Room Details

Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen - Management's Description

Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen - booking info

Please do not stay here.

"I have been living at Mealmarket since last September as an international student at RGU. Throughout the main part of the year I have generally been alright with Mealmarket as somewhere I could e"- Rebecca

Shocking value for money

"After struggling to meet the £146 a week rent I would have expected to be living the life of luxury- I was wrong. My flat at mealmarket had nothing but problems from day one- our cooker didn't wo"- Anonymous

Accomodation rating: 0 5 1.07143 - 7 ratings
Overall Rating
1.07145
  • Quality of rooms
    1.7857
  • Fun/Atmosphere
    0.92855
  • Location
    4.2857
  • Safety
    1.14285
  • Management
    1.2143
  • Value
    0.7143

Rooms and Prices

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit
amount
Availability Book

No rooms

Property Description :

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep

read more

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep.

 

Location

This property could not be in a better location in terms of getting to the city's universities and colleges. The bus stop outside Mealmarket Exchange will drop you at the door of the Robert Gordon University Garthdee campus and The Aberdeen College is only a 15 minute walk away. Mealmarket Exchange is only a few minutes from the vibrant city centre and so you can easily be part of everything that is great about living in Aberdeen. If you want to stay local you are surrounded by all the usual student necessities including bars, coffee shops, pubs and takeaways. There is also a large Morrison’s supermarket right next door and the Boulevard Retail Park is which has an Asda mega store and huge range of other shops is also close by.

 

Management

There are two things that matter the most to the management team at the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen; the safety and wellbeing of their students. This experienced team excel in both areas.  Staff are on-site 24/7 and there is also the latest electronic entry system in place and plenty of CCTV cameras.  Mealmarket Exchange also offers fortnightly cleaning of the communal areas such as the living room and kitchen.

 

Features

If you like the look of the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen with a view to making it your home while studying in the city, you have a choice of en-suite rooms within larger flats and self-contained studios. These are all airy, spacious, offer plenty of storage and have access to the property's free Wi-Fi. The flats in particular are very spacious and the living areas are great for socialising. There is also secure bike storage, an on-site laundry facility, vending machines around the building and a secure car park.

 

Contact Us

If you are heading to Aberdeen to study and think MealMarket is the perfect accommodation for you then get in touch with us. You can fill in our quick contact form and one of our team will get straight back to you or, if you have any questions before making a decision, please give us a call.

done

Property Description :

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep.

 

Location

This property could not be in a better location in terms of getting to the city's universities and colleges. The bus stop outside Mealmarket Exchange will drop you at the door of the Robert Gordon University Garthdee campus and The Aberdeen College is only a 15 minute walk away. Mealmarket Exchange is only a few minutes from the vibrant city centre and so you can easily be part of everything that is great about living in Aberdeen. If you want to stay local you are surrounded by all the usual student necessities including bars, coffee shops, pubs and takeaways. There is also a large Morrison’s supermarket right next door and the Boulevard Retail Park is which has an Asda mega store and huge range of other shops is also close by.

 

Management

There are two things that matter the most to the management team at the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen; the safety and wellbeing of their students. This experienced team excel in both areas.  Staff are on-site 24/7 and there is also the latest electronic entry system in place and plenty of CCTV cameras.  Mealmarket Exchange also offers fortnightly cleaning of the communal areas such as the living room and kitchen.

 

Features

If you like the look of the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen with a view to making it your home while studying in the city, you have a choice of en-suite rooms within larger flats and self-contained studios. These are all airy, spacious, offer plenty of storage and have access to the property's free Wi-Fi. The flats in particular are very spacious and the living areas are great for socialising. There is also secure bike storage, an on-site laundry facility, vending machines around the building and a secure car park.

 

Contact Us

If you are heading to Aberdeen to study and think MealMarket is the perfect accommodation for you then get in touch with us. You can fill in our quick contact form and one of our team will get straight back to you or, if you have any questions before making a decision, please give us a call.

done

Near By Halls

Disclaimer

*Prices & availability are subject to change. information provided is for academic year rents only and does not include information about short stays. For the most up to date info and info about short stays please visit the hall provider’s website.

Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen

Property Description :

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep.

 

Location

This property could not be in a better location in terms of getting to the city's universities and colleges. The bus stop outside Mealmarket Exchange will drop you at the door of the Robert Gordon University Garthdee campus and The Aberdeen College is only a 15 minute walk away. Mealmarket Exchange is only a few minutes from the vibrant city centre and so you can easily be part of everything that is great about living in Aberdeen. If you want to stay local you are surrounded by all the usual student necessities including bars, coffee shops, pubs and takeaways. There is also a large Morrison’s supermarket right next door and the Boulevard Retail Park is which has an Asda mega store and huge range of other shops is also close by.

 

Management

There are two things that matter the most to the management team at the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen; the safety and wellbeing of their students. This experienced team excel in both areas.  Staff are on-site 24/7 and there is also the latest electronic entry system in place and plenty of CCTV cameras.  Mealmarket Exchange also offers fortnightly cleaning of the communal areas such as the living room and kitchen.

 

Features

If you like the look of the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen with a view to making it your home while studying in the city, you have a choice of en-suite rooms within larger flats and self-contained studios. These are all airy, spacious, offer plenty of storage and have access to the property's free Wi-Fi. The flats in particular are very spacious and the living areas are great for socialising. There is also secure bike storage, an on-site laundry facility, vending machines around the building and a secure car park.

 

Contact Us

If you are heading to Aberdeen to study and think MealMarket is the perfect accommodation for you then get in touch with us. You can fill in our quick contact form and one of our team will get straight back to you or, if you have any questions before making a decision, please give us a call.

done

Please do not stay here.

1.5

Quality of rooms - 2 Fun/Atmosphere - 3 Location - 3.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 1.5 Value - 1

I have been living at Mealmarket since last September as an international student at RGU. Throughout the main part of the year I have generally been alright with Mealmarket as somewhere I could easily rent through my school and not have to worry about utilities and whatnot. There have been some minor things (such as the high rent, ridiculous amount you have to pay for laundry and quite a few noisy freshers) which I generally expect with student housing. My main issue started in December when we started receiving emails at least once a week about people coming in to fix things. This has been fine up until May as I have had roommates. However, now all my roommates are gone and I have been living on my own as a single female. Beginning in June I was having people come into my apartment without notice, oftentimes burly men, multiple times a week. I talked to the housing about this and they said they had given me an email notice. Their email notice was that someone would come in between June 19th-30th, which to them apparently meant coming in about 80% of those days. But at least they had given me an email and, since I had extended my lease on the 17th they said prior to that the school should have been letting me know. While this didn't really make sense as Mealmarket had been letting me know the rest of the year and I had never once heard from the school, I decided to let it go. However, this happened again after I had come back from vacation I had strange men in my apartment the first three days after I came back. I asked the 2nd guy to please leave and talk to the main desk, which he did leave. But then three guys came back the next day and when I asked them to leave said I would need to talk with student housing. I emailed the manager and he apologised and had them leave and arranged another time for them to come back and has been emailing me about when people will be coming specifically, although I have had to press for exact times. Again, while annoying, it was addressed and dealt with. My final straw came this week when I had an exact time when people were supposed to come in, 1-4pm, and had planned accordingly to leave then when someone shows up at 11am. Same thing, I asked him politely if he could leave and he ignored my request and said he was supposed to be here and it would take a few seconds. I understand they need to do repairs during the summer but at this point this is a blatant disregard of my discomfort, especially as a female living alone in an apartment, and as such I would highly recommend you find anywhere else to live.

  • 26 Jul 2017
  • Rebecca
  • UNITED STATES
  • Female

Shocking value for money

0.5

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 4.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 2 Value - 0.5

After struggling to meet the £146 a week rent I would have expected to be living the life of luxury- I was wrong. My flat at mealmarket had nothing but problems from day one- our cooker didn't work properly (which we continued to report to maintenance but was never resolved). On my first few days I didn't even have access to hot water in my shower. At one point we couldn't even drink clean water as for a night it was brown which effected most people at meal market. As I have a car I had to pay a £10 fee a week which is appalling considering I often couldn't find a space as other residents allowed their friends park over night meaning I wasn't able to park my car. I was slightly late in paying my second semester parking fee and received a £85 fine. My lease doesn't end until September and being In block 2 we were forced to move into another flat for maintenance work to be done- as I am working full time/ other flat mates on holiday this was a huge inconvenience also as maintenance is going on the car park is open all the time meaning this "private carpark" is anything but private. In my opinion unite are nothing but money stealers and have little thought for the students who live there.

  • 15 Jul 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

Shocking value for money

0.5

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 4.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 2 Value - 0.5

After struggling to meet the £146 a week rent I would have expected to be living the life of luxury- I was wrong. My flat at mealmarket had nothing but problems from day one- our cooker didn't work properly (which we continued to report to maintenance but was never resolved). On my first few days I didn't even have access to hot water in my shower. At one point we couldn't even drink clean water as for a night it was brown which effected most people at meal market. As I have a car I had to pay a £10 fee a week which is appalling considering I often couldn't find a space as other residents allowed their friends park over night meaning I wasn't able to park my car. I was slightly late in paying my second semester parking fee and received a £85 fine. My lease doesn't end until September and being In block 2 we were forced to move into another flat for maintenance work to be done- as I am working full time/ other flat mates on holiday this was a huge inconvenience also as maintenance is going on the car park is open all the time meaning this "private carpark" is anything but private. In my opinion unite are nothing but money stealers and have little thought for the students who live there.

  • 15 Jul 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

Wish I never chose Mealmarket Exchange

1

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 3.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

I will start off saying that I did like my room, the layout ect. was good! But apart from that, there isn't much else positive to say. The worst thing for me was probably the price. If I felt it was worth it maybe it would be different but Mealmarket isn't worth half what you pay for it. They make the prices this high because they know there is a shortage of accommodation in Aberdeen and desperate students will pay it. But for the price you pay you get constant noise outside (the windows do not stop any of this), from the front of the building drunk students play music outside at 4am and the back, the road is non stop, with lorrys shaking the entire building. The washing machines are very expensive and rarely work, and don't even think of trying to ask staff to refund you for a dryer that after 2 spins, hasn't dried your clothes because they don't give a damn. The management is beyond rude, not letting visitors park in the car park for an hour to see you and instead saying they have to go to Morrisons. The cleaners are very nice and do a good job cleaning the communal areas but that doesn't make the fact that between 5 people, you have to share a 3 shelf fridge and freezer, any easier. The smell of weed when you enter Mealmarket makes it very clear that the management do nothing to stop this, or smoking right outside the building. The beds are unbearable and after a 9 months sleeping on them, your back will never recover. The springs have actually hit me in the middle of the night before, hard enough to wake me up. At one point there was even someone sleeping rough in the entrance because the door broke and was not fixed for the best part of a year meaning anyone could just walk in. The smoke alarms are very sensitive everywhere other than the kitchen where there could literally be a fire and it would not set them off. The way you pay rent is in instalments and there is no option of paying every month to even this out, worst of all they know when SAAS comes in (the 7th or 8th) but they charge at the end of the month so you have no money to pay by that point. There will always be students coming into Mealmarket because they are desperate for accommodation so I don't expect any of this to change, because they get away with it.

  • 30 Jun 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
The hall's management replied to this review:
Hello, I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at Mealmarket Exchange. The price of accommodation with Unite Students is variable depending on which property you stay in and when you book, and reflects the prices of accommodation within Aberdeen. The price is all inclusive, so you do not pay any extra for internet, heating or electric, meaning there are no unexpected bills.
We have a 24 hour Service and Safety Team on duty so if you experience any problems with noise at night time then you simply need to report the issue and someone will come out to resolve the issue.
The washing machines are supplied on a contract with Circuit Laundry, and the individual buildings do not set the price of these machines. Should you have any problems with the machines then you can either contact Circuit Laundry directly, using the contact information supplied in the laundry room, or inform a member of staff who will report the problem for you. There is no cash held on site so staff members cannot refund you directly should you have a problem, but we can supply you with laundry tokens from Circuit Laundry if necessary so that you can redo your wash or dry cycle.
We have limited car parking on site which is reserved by people who pay for parking for the semester. However, where there is space staff are happy to let visitors in on a temporary basis. Unfortunately we do not have the room for overnight parking for visitors.
Mealmarket Exchange is a smoke and drug free building and we do not accept drug use on our premises. If you have any concerns about drug use on the premises I would encourage you to speak with a member of staff or to contact the police directly on 101.
If you have any issues with the quality of furnishing in your room then staff will be happy to replace items such as worn mattresses for you.
We had an ongoing problem with the entrance door to one block this year, and were reliant on specialist contractors ordering new parts. This problem has now been resolved. Again, if you have any issues with people in the buildings then our Service and Safety Team are just a phone call away.
The fire alarms are sensitive to comply with health and safety. The kitchen fire alarms are heat detected so that steam from cooking does not set them off repeatedly. In the event of a fire the heat would set off these alarms.
In terms of payments we have several instalment options ranging from 8 monthly payments, 4 bi-monthly payments, 1 payment per semester or 1 payment at the start of your tenancy. We have other options available if you are struggling to meet your selected payment plan, you simply need to speak to a member of staff at reception about this and they will do their best to help. Payment dates for rent are set by the company as a whole and not by each property individually. We do appreciate that in Scotland SAAS payments often come in after the date set for rent payment by Unite Students and individual properties are happy to allow leeway on this.
Once again I am sorry that your stay with us was not to the standard you expected. If you have any more concerns please do not hesitate to get in touch with Mealmarket Exchange directly.

Mealmarket

0.5

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 5
Safety - 1 Management - 1 Value - 0.5

Terrible value for money!

  • 30 Jun 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

Lots (too much) room for improvement

2

Quality of rooms - 2 Fun/Atmosphere - 1 Location - 4
Safety - 2 Management - 1 Value - 1

Way to expensive- £663.75 a month! Absolutely ridiculous for STUDENT ACCOMMODATION and could easily of rather got a nice flat to share with someone with that money! It's definitely not worth £663.75. The rooms aren't great.. The bathroom isn't either. Apparently they charge for everything they possibly can when students move out( shower curtains apparently cost £30 to replace- they are rubbish cheap curtains that I could probably buy for £3 :| They charge ridiculous amounts for parking each semester... The staff are often rude and treat us as if we aren't customers.... Reporting issues never gets looked into and if it does then they don't do much.... If you report through email then they tell you to go to reception to report- ridiculous... They shouldn't make you do the running around. They aren't any fire extinguishers only a fire blanket so in the case of a fire we are f'd.

  • 09 May 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
The hall's management replied to this review:
Hello,I am sorry that you feel that your stay at Mealmarket Exchange has not lived up to your expectations.The price for accomodation with Unite Students is variable depending on which property you stay in and when you book. The price is all-inclusive, covering your heating, electrictiy, and internet access so there are no unexpected bills.The only charges you might experience when you move out is for wilful damage. We do not charge for shower curtains, which are replaced as standard.Car parking is £10 per week for a space in a secure car park, in the city centre, covered by CCTV.I am sorry that you have been told to go to reception to report issues. You can either speak to staff at reception, email us, or you can report maintenance issues using the MyUnite app on your phone. We may need to contact you if we need more details to effectively solve the issue.We do not supply fire extinguishers in flats as there should not be a case where students have to be putting out fires themselves using complicated extinguishers. All flats are fitted with fire doors and smoke alarms and upon hearing the smoke alarm customers are asked to evactuate the building. Once again I appologise if your stay has not been to the standard you expected and would encourage you to contact Unite Students directly if you have any ongoing problems so that we may resolve them for you.

NOT WORTH IT

1.5

Quality of rooms - 2.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 5
Safety - 3 Management - 0.5 Value - 1

Although a good spot, i would never return to Mealmarket, due to its corrupt and poor management that can do nothing! and due do high levels of drug use, the rooms are a good size but have design flaws, its just not worth the money. Washing machines barley work DRYERS DO NOT WORK and is severely over priced, there are only 5 washers and 6 dryers for 300 people, The security gates are open 24/7 whats the point if they are always open. they blatantly ignore smoking and drug complaints, also maintenance issues in the room usually go unresolved. Unless you like your drugs and have a fair bit of money, do no live here as rooms are £675 a month which is ridiculous

  • 24 Mar 2015
  • Violet
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
The hall's management replied to this review:
Hello.
I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay at Mealmarket Exchange.
Mealmarket Exchange is a smoke and drug free building and we do not accept drug use on our premises. If you have any concerns about drug use on the premises I would encourage you to speak with a member of staff or to contact the police directly on 101.
The washing machines are supplied on a contract by Circuit Laundry. The number of machines is calculated by Circuit Laundry according to how often the machines are in use. I appreciate that during peak times (notably weekends) there may be a wait for an available machine, however the machines are often empty during weekdays with no wait. If you have a problem with a machine not working please do let reception know so that we can arrange for the machine to be fixed, and arrange compensation in the form of laundry tokens if necessary.
The pedestrian security gate has been open due to a fault, for which we are currently awaiting an engineer. However I would like to assure you that the security of our customers is still very much a concern for Unite Students. The premises are monitored by CCTV, and the external doors to each building are locked, and only open with a resident's key fob. We also have a Service and Safety Team on duty 24 hours a day, and you can phone them for help if you ever feel that you have an issue with security.
The price for accommodation with Unite Students does vary depending on which property you stay in and when you book, but the price is all-inclusive, covering your heating, electrictiy, and internet access so there are no unexpected bills.
If you have any further problems please do not hesitate to contact Unite Students directly and we will do our best to help.

We want to know your opinion!

Overall *
Quality of rooms *
Fun/Atmosphere*
Location *
Safety *
Management *
Value *
Review Title *
First name *       Anonymous
Nationality *
Age*
Sex *
Male   Female
University Email address *  (so we can verify you’re a real student)
tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3
Mealmarket Exchange, Aberdeen

Property Description :

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep.

 

Location

This property could not be in a better location in terms of getting to the city's universities and colleges. The bus stop outside Mealmarket Exchange will drop you at the door of the Robert Gordon University Garthdee campus and The Aberdeen College is only a 15 minute walk away. Mealmarket Exchange is only a few minutes from the vibrant city centre and so you can easily be part of everything that is great about living in Aberdeen. If you want to stay local you are surrounded by all the usual student necessities including bars, coffee shops, pubs and takeaways. There is also a large Morrison’s supermarket right next door and the Boulevard Retail Park is which has an Asda mega store and huge range of other shops is also close by.

 

Management

There are two things that matter the most to the management team at the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen; the safety and wellbeing of their students. This experienced team excel in both areas.  Staff are on-site 24/7 and there is also the latest electronic entry system in place and plenty of CCTV cameras.  Mealmarket Exchange also offers fortnightly cleaning of the communal areas such as the living room and kitchen.

 

Features

If you like the look of the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen with a view to making it your home while studying in the city, you have a choice of en-suite rooms within larger flats and self-contained studios. These are all airy, spacious, offer plenty of storage and have access to the property's free Wi-Fi. The flats in particular are very spacious and the living areas are great for socialising. There is also secure bike storage, an on-site laundry facility, vending machines around the building and a secure car park.

 

Contact Us

If you are heading to Aberdeen to study and think MealMarket is the perfect accommodation for you then get in touch with us. You can fill in our quick contact form and one of our team will get straight back to you or, if you have any questions before making a decision, please give us a call.

done

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit amount Availability Book

No rooms

HALLBOOKER'S DESCRIPTION

Mealmarket Exchange is in an ideal location for student accommodation, giving you the luxury of having all that Aberdeen has to offer on your doorstep.

 

Location

This property could not be in a better location in terms of getting to the city's universities and colleges. The bus stop outside Mealmarket Exchange will drop you at the door of the Robert Gordon University Garthdee campus and The Aberdeen College is only a 15 minute walk away. Mealmarket Exchange is only a few minutes from the vibrant city centre and so you can easily be part of everything that is great about living in Aberdeen. If you want to stay local you are surrounded by all the usual student necessities including bars, coffee shops, pubs and takeaways. There is also a large Morrison’s supermarket right next door and the Boulevard Retail Park is which has an Asda mega store and huge range of other shops is also close by.

 

Management

There are two things that matter the most to the management team at the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen; the safety and wellbeing of their students. This experienced team excel in both areas.  Staff are on-site 24/7 and there is also the latest electronic entry system in place and plenty of CCTV cameras.  Mealmarket Exchange also offers fortnightly cleaning of the communal areas such as the living room and kitchen.

 

Features

If you like the look of the Mealmarket Exchange Aberdeen with a view to making it your home while studying in the city, you have a choice of en-suite rooms within larger flats and self-contained studios. These are all airy, spacious, offer plenty of storage and have access to the property's free Wi-Fi. The flats in particular are very spacious and the living areas are great for socialising. There is also secure bike storage, an on-site laundry facility, vending machines around the building and a secure car park.

 

Contact Us

If you are heading to Aberdeen to study and think MealMarket is the perfect accommodation for you then get in touch with us. You can fill in our quick contact form and one of our team will get straight back to you or, if you have any questions before making a decision, please give us a call.

Overall Rating
1.07145
  • Quality of rooms
    1.7857
  • Fun/Atmosphere
    0.92855
  • Location
    4.2857
  • Safety
    1.14285
  • Management
    1.2143
  • Value
    0.7143