Asquith House, Leeds

Servia Road Leeds LS7 1NJ

Asquith House, Leeds - Review

Asquith House, Leeds - Room Details

Asquith House, Leeds - Management's Description

Asquith House, Leeds - booking info

Don't book here

"Poorly managed, didn't move in until 3 months later and looks nothing like pictures. "- Anonymous

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

"Don't be fooled by the pictures they have posted. Asquith house resembles nothing like what has been advertised. Everything in this accommodation has been done with the mentality of 'that'll do'. "- Anonymous

Accomodation rating: 0 5 1.333335 - 6 ratings
Overall Rating
1.33335
  • Quality of rooms
    2.58335
  • Fun/Atmosphere
    0.91665
  • Location
    2.75
  • Safety
    1.16665
  • Management
    0.66665
  • Value
    1.5

Rooms and Prices

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit
amount
Availability Book

No rooms

Property Description :

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

done

Property Description :

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

done

Near By Halls

Disclaimer

*Prices & availability are subject to change. information provided is for academic year rents only and does not include information about short stays. For the most up to date info and info about short stays please visit the hall provider’s website.

Asquith House, Leeds

Property Description :

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

done

Don't book here

0.5

Quality of rooms - 2 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 1.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

Poorly managed, didn't move in until 3 months later and looks nothing like pictures.

  • 12 Feb 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
The hall's management replied to this review:
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. We at Asquith House fully understand your frustrations with the situation you were in up to December 2015. I hope that you feel that since then things have improved, as we continue to work hard to ensure the students that reside here are happy and comfortable. We would like to invite you to leave further feedback and advise us of what you still feel is an issue, what we can improve on and what you think has improved since you first addressed your issues here.

Please don't forget that we are positioned here at the main entrance for you to discuss any concerns with us, we are happy to offer you support in whichever way we can.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

The Asquith Team.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

0.5

Quality of rooms - 2 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 2
Safety - 0.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

Don't be fooled by the pictures they have posted. Asquith house resembles nothing like what has been advertised. Everything in this accommodation has been done with the mentality of 'that'll do'. Nearly everything provided is of sub standard. It's almost like living in a prison cell. Actually that's harsh on the prison. We spent 3 months living in a hotel due to the lies made by this useless management. Who are more interested in sending emails demanding rent then actually helping anyone. Construction is still going on as we speak, nothing is as promised. Honestly avoid living here, if you're thinking 'oh this was probably last year's review it'll get better' nope. If you want to be treatly like crap whilst paying money go for it.

  • 11 Feb 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
The hall's management replied to this review:
Hi,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate any feedback as we are focusing on improving the experience for our tenants going forward. We understand that the issues stemming from the development setbacks were highly stressful and inconvenient for you all and we are sorry that you feel these were not dealt with adequately. I hope that in the recent months, the on-going maintenance to your individual flats as well as to the building, and receiving your compensation for the problems encountered in the initial months have helped you have a more fulfilling and enjoyable university experience. If you do have any further concerns or suggestions as to what we could do to help improve the experience at Asquith House, please don't hesitate to contact us.

We are based here at the desk to assist you in any way we can and discuss any issues that you have and support you in any way that we could throughout this period and will continue to do so as long as you require it, so please reach out to us if you feel the need to.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

The Asquith Team.

AVOID ASQUITH HOUSE

1.5

Quality of rooms - 2.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 3.5
Safety - 1 Management - 1 Value - 1.5

As you've probably made out from previous reviews, there was a huge delay until we could move into this accommodation. We were scheduled to move in on the 20th September, but instead hastily moved in on the 1st December.



I say hastily moved in because whoever built, developed and advertised Asquith House should be ashamed of themselves. We are basically living on a construction site, and it will remain this way for another year at least. There is no common room or laundrette, thus lacking an atmosphere in the place. The only thing binding a fair few of us together is through a mutual hatred of those we call our landlords. Security is non existent, or having a fag on the steps. Even when they are hiding behind the so called '24/7' reception desk, they're watching TV with headphones in and paying zero attention to the outside world.



The rooms are ok at best, partly down to the fact we have a mini fridge and a reasonable en suite bathroom. The mattresses are like sleeping on wet cobbled streets, because they are 'hygienic' plastic mattresses with little to no comfort whatsoever, yet they assured us of luxury and comfort. We were promised an aerial port in our rooms to connect a TV for personal use but that was also a lie.



The kitchen area is also ok, but there definitely isn't enough room for 4 people to store pots, pans and cutlery along with food etc. The freezer is tiny, you'll have to compromise. They do provide dishwashers but have yet to prevail as they were disconnected upon arrival and still are to this day. The advertisements said we would have a huge flat screen TV in the living area yet here I am staring into a 'Blaupunkt' TV the size of a baking tray.



Overall, if you're thinking of living here as a second or third year, avoid at all costs. I can honestly say that this place has ruined my experience as a first year university student, what with us living in a hotel for 3 months on the outskirts of Leeds City Centre and feeling disconnected. The location is pretty terrible too, I wouldn't feel comfortable walking in the nearby area alone in the dark lets put it that way, not to mention the mountain we have to climb to get to uni everyday. I've seen people live in absolute dumps for their uni accommodation, but believe me you do not get £122.50 pw worth in this place, save your money and look elsewhere it will be the best decision you have ever made.'

  • 07 Feb 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
The hall's management replied to this review:
Good morning,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you are unhappy with your experience here at Asquith House, we understand completely, the frustrations caused by the delays with the construction work.

I am sorry that you feel as though you were rushed into the property in December, we did try to get the students moved in as quickly as possible to avoid any further displeasure or distress at being in the hotels, this was something which we felt would be beneficial to the students after listening to their concerns and I am sorry that you do not feel that this had benefited you. Regarding the laundry facilities, there are now 2x temporary laundry rooms set up within the building for the students to use free of charge due to the inconvenience of previous events, we also have an agenda for the completion of the common room and are looking forward to being able to plan events and build more of a community within Asquith House.

It is very disappointing to hear that you do not feel that our service as a management team is to your standards, we try hard to assist students with whatever they need and can assure you, that we are not watching TV (we do not have one - only a monitor displaying CCTV footage) and are fully committed to actively improving your experience at Asquith House. If you ever do feel as though your needs aren't being met by the management team, especially in specific circumstances, please don't hesitate to come and speak to us about it. We can only improve our services if you advise us where you feel that we are failing and we strive to be as facilitating as our residents need us to be.

Regarding the remainder of the facilities such as the hygienic mattresses, TV's and kitchen space, it is unfortunate that you feel these are not to your standards. The mattresses are put in place with your best interests at mind and the kitchen areas are designed to give you space for all appliances as well as room to relax and socialise in.

To reiterate, your feedback is greatly appreciated and I think you will be happy to know that the students which have booked to stay with us this year have been invited to look around the building and have been able to decide for themselves after viewing, that the building is to their standards before they pay their depositis. Hopefully this will prevent anyone having to go through a similar situation to yourself. If you do have any further feedback since your original review, whether good or bad, I would ask that you share it with us so that we can look at what we are doing right and what else we can do to improve our tenants experience here further.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

The Asquith Team.


AVOID AT ALL COSTS

1

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 1.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

I spent 3 months in a hotel because of this company, constantly being told "you are moving in so and so date" and then being put on a further day. This happened approximately 5 times before I eventually moved in on the 1st December, opposed to their predicted date of the 20th September.



As a previous review has mentioned, upon arrival the construction was not complete and the features of the property that are listed on websites and in their contract is most certainly not fulfilled.



Wifi was not further installed until the 21st January, again despite being told it would be fitted upon our arrival week. Even though it is installed, only 2 devices are able to connect to it at a time, meaning 3/4 of us do not have wifi. There is also no ironboard/iron, no common room (as it is the building site), no washer/dryers in the room like the advertising likes to make out. Instead, we have 2 washers and dryers in a spare flat downstairs that ALL of the residences share.



Without a common room, the atmosphere is non existent. They only reason myself and other residences have been in contact is over our mutual undeniable hatred for Urban Student Life.



Also, the pictures on advertising the building that aren't computerised and show a real life building, is not infact Asquith, but Leodis residences! Leodis is just behind Asquith hall, so I suppose they think that this can surpass. Asquith will provide pictures of the current state of the building, as scaffolding still remains, construction is still taking place all around the building and quite frankly nothing will ever do the property justice. The computerised pictures of the flat are also VERY misleading. It is nothing like shown.



There are MANY other things that Asquith House do not fulfill, they do not abide by their contract but also do not care that they don't. However, you must stick to yours!



You may think (and be told) that things will be different come September, however I have been promised things repeatedly over the past 5 months, all of which equate to be lies. As long as you provide them with money, they will take as long as they like with developments.



Do not trust this company - they have made my first year hell.



I could go on forever. However, I have a doctors appointment for a bad back which Asquith House has provided me with, thanks to their hygienic mattessess.



Diabolical.



  • 21 Jan 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
The hall's management replied to this review:
Good morning,

It is unfortunate to hear that your experience as Asquith House has been so poor, although we fully understand your frustrations. I have read your feedback and am happy to report that quite a few of the issues which you have brought up have been improved upon or rectified completely.

We have now opened up 2 laundry facilities within the building, which our tenants can use for free due to the inconveniences they have suffered previously. We have had no complaints regarding the internet and tenants have been able to log into as many devices as listed on their specific plans and we have an agenda for the completion of the common room which we look forward to being able to use to build more of a community here at Asquith house.

Regarding the real photos of other buildings used, I can advise that we have used computerised images based on plans and drawings and at present, any advertisement released by us has either the computerised images or images since taken of the real building, both internally and externally, unfortunately, some photos may have been used by 3rd party advertisers. I apologise for any confusion this may have caused and this should not occur again, especially since the building is now open for viewings before any bookings are made or deposits are paid.

I am sorry that you feel that the mattresses are not to your standards, the hygienic mattresses are supplied for the benefit of the students but the comfort will certainly be looked into, following the concerns raised.

I hope that following the improvements we have made and continue to make, that your experience at Asquith House has improved from what it once was. If you have any further feedback, whether good or bad, please feel free to post further as we will work with every piece of feedback we get to try and improve things for our tenants.

Thanks for your time.

Kind regards,

The Asquith Team.

Not what was advertised

1.5

Quality of rooms - 2.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 4
Safety - 0.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 2

The opening was delayed for over 3 months and after finally moving in, it was not even finished which was a huge disappointment. Upon arrival, there was not even a front entrance or communal area, as it was still a building site.

The kitchen area in the studio rooms lacks sufficient space to store utensils, pans, etc. and there's no room for meal preparation. Currently living out of boxes.

The artist's impression of Asquith House does not live up to reality.

Although USL have been helpful throughout the delayed opening, frustrations with the developers and the way the student accommodation has been managed leaves a lot to be desired.

  • 04 Jan 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
The hall's management replied to this review:
Good morning,

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback. I am sorry that you feel as though your expectations weren't met regarding the building, It is great to hear that you feel as though we at USL have been helpful during this frustrating time and apologise for the issues you have had getting into contact with the developers.

As you know, we are currently working hard to make the necessary improvements to improve our tenants experience here, If there is anything you can think of specifically which you feel is yet to be addressed, please feel free to let us know here at the main desk. We are always happy to help.

Thanks again for your feedback.


Kind regards,

The Asquith Team.

Horrible management

3

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 3 Location - 4
Safety - 4 Management - 1 Value - 4

Rooms are good size for price.



Location is good but could be better.



Management is terrible, keep delaying moving in and I've had constant trouble trying to get in touch with them.

  • 02 Dec 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
The hall's management replied to this review:
Good morning,

Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear that you are happy with the room size and location. It is unfortunate that you have had such trouble getting into contact with the developers and I hope that this has since improved for you. If there is anything you feel that us as a management team can assist with, please don't hesitate to contact us or come to the main desk, we are always happy to help.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

The Asquith Team.

We want to know your opinion!

Overall *
Quality of rooms *
Fun/Atmosphere*
Location *
Safety *
Management *
Value *
Review Title *
First name *       Anonymous
Nationality *
Age*
Sex *
Male   Female
University Email address *  (so we can verify you’re a real student)
tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3
Asquith House, Leeds

Property Description :

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

done

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit amount Availability Book

No rooms

HALLBOOKER'S DESCRIPTION

Asquith House managed by Urban Student Life, is a modern, contemporary living solutions designed for today's student. All rooms are en suite with premium fixtures and fittings.

Overall Rating
1.33335
  • Quality of rooms
    2.58335
  • Fun/Atmosphere
    0.91665
  • Location
    2.75
  • Safety
    1.16665
  • Management
    0.66665
  • Value
    1.5