Darley Bank, Derby

Darley Bank, 7-11 Brook Street, Derby, DE1 3PF

Darley Bank, Derby - Review

Darley Bank, Derby - Room Details

Darley Bank, Derby - Management's Description

Darley Bank, Derby - booking info

Ranked #3 of 4 halls in Birmingham

Living at Darley Bank

"I enjoy living at darley bank, the rooms are cosy and good quality. Any problems with my room are sorted within a fast amount of time and there’s always some one at the desk to assist me."- Sophie

Amazing!

"Lived here for 2 years and it is perfect distance from town/clubs. Always kept clean and lovely helpful staff. recommend 100%"- Anonymous

Accomodation rating: 0 5 3.55769 - 26 ratings
Overall Rating
3.5577
  • Quality of rooms
    3.76925
  • Fun/Atmosphere
    3.3269
  • Location
    4.3654
  • Safety
    3.71155
  • Management
    3.46155
  • Value
    3.0769

Rooms and Prices

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit
amount
Availability Book
Bedroom Ensuite £0.00 £0.00 SOLD OUT Book Now

Property Description :

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

done

Property Description :

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

done

Rooms and Prices

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit
amount
Availability Book
Bedroom Ensuite £0.00 £0.00 SOLD OUT Book Now

Nearby Halls

Disclaimer

*Prices & availability are subject to change. information provided is for academic year rents only and does not include information about short stays. For the most up to date info and info about short stays please visit the hall provider’s website.

Darley Bank, Derby

Property Description :

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

done

Living at Darley Bank

4.5

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 4.5 Value - 4.5

I enjoy living at darley bank, the rooms are cosy and good quality. Any problems with my room are sorted within a fast amount of time and there’s always some one at the desk to assist me.

  • 17 Mar 2018
  • Sophie
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Amazing!

5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 5 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 5

Lived here for 2 years and it is perfect distance from town/clubs. Always kept clean and lovely helpful staff. recommend 100%

  • 12 Nov 2017
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
  • Would recommend this property

BEST STUDENT ACCOMADATION

5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 5 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 5

Best student accommodation in Derby, lots of great social events through the year and amazing value for money. Close to the city centre and university campus!

  • 05 Oct 2017
  • Hannah
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Darley Bank Review

5

Quality of rooms - 4 Fun/Atmosphere - 3 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 3.5

It has been awesome living here for the past 2 years! Especially the really bubbly staff

  • 05 Apr 2017
  • Stephen
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
  • Would recommend this property

great place to live

5

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 5 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 3

Its a great place to live ,very friendly and welcoming staff , it has a good location as its right in the middle between the city center and university.

  • 28 Mar 2017
  • Youssef Morcos
  • EGYPT
  • Male
  • Would recommend this property

Better quality wifi

4

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 5
Safety - 4.5 Management - 5 Value - 4

neeed better quality wifi

  • 27 Mar 2017
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male

Great rooms and staff.

4.5

Quality of rooms - 4 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 3.5
Safety - 5 Management - 4.5 Value - 4

I've stayed here for nearly two years now. Great quality facilities with a staff who really try all they can to help out when I need it.

  • 04 Mar 2017
  • Jonathan
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
  • Would recommend this property

Great accommodation

5

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4.5 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 4

The accommodation is really new and up to date. The bedroom is spacious and has plenty of storage.

It's very secure, there is great security guards that walk around every hour.

You have the option to live with friends. This makes booking easier as you choose which flat and flatmates you wish to live with.

  • 03 Mar 2017
  • Cinz
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

Excellent accommodation!

5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 4.5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 4

Darley Bank is such a good accommodation option for Derby students! The location is brilliant as it is close to all the other halls of residence, as well as the new student union cafe/bar No. 67 Bridge Street, and a short walk from the city centre. All the staff are friendly and approachable and they always organise social events and freebie giveaways. There is someone at reception during office hours for any queries and to collect your parcels, and there is always security on site with an emergency contact number. Lastly, the quality of the rooms is amazing. All rooms are modern and of a good size, and if anything breaks or stops working, the staff will fix it as soon as possible.

  • 03 Mar 2017
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Disgraceful

0.5

Quality of rooms - 1 Fun/Atmosphere - 1 Location - 4
Safety - 1.5 Management - 1 Value - 0.5

The only positive towards living in Darley Bank is the location, where the accommodation is situated right next to the city centre. But there are many drawbacks.



The interior walls are made out of MDF, a cheap building material. The tenants can easily hear the sound of the lift arriving on your floor. Due to this lack of wall thickness, you can hear drunk first year students shout drunken slurs on the other end of the accommodation. Plus, you can hear the next door neighbour's TV next door, and because they're most likely to be first year students, they wouldn't care about your sleeping patterns, whether you have an exam first thing in the morning or any concerns to their incompetence to keeping quiet.



I have logged several maintenance issues in my first semester of living in Darley Bank, where plumbing and boiler problems has been escalated. Once these issues has been resolved, other issues were raised including draft seeping through the poorly designed window sealants and broken light sensors in the corridor. The inefficient boiler room/plant room is normally kept on throughout the year, which further results in many hot and humid flats in the summer with no air conditioning to counter this problem.



Finally, the quality of amenities doesn't reflect on the high price tag of rent. As of submitting this message, the cost of rent in Darley Bank per flat for a bronze plus en suite is equivalent to renting a 4 bedroom house with enough money for bills and furniture. However, many tenants pay substantially more than my cost of rent to live here. Not to mention that the cost of washing is £4.30 PER WASH AND DRY.



Overall, If you are not a first year student, you MUST avoid this place as other alternatives to living is better.

  • 02 Mar 2017
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male

Best option

5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 4 Value - 5

This is definitely the best choice for anyone who want somewhere nice to live! It is so much nicest than any other options in the area and I wouldn't choose to live anywhere else.



Absolutely love living here!

  • 25 Feb 2017
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

NOT FOR STUDENTS

1

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 1 Location - 4.5
Safety - 1.5 Management - 2 Value - 1

Im currently living here in a silver en suite. Price per quater is stupid for students, unless you get the highest amount of loan and bursary, theres no point- go to halls or private housing. The room quality is bad, looks flashy at first, but not everything is made with the quality that you pay for. Since ive moved in, my radiator has been falling out of the wall, the heating of the room is terrible, winter has been hell to live through and the shower has never drained properly, yet if you report any of these problems, you have to pay for it out of your own pocket. The door to my block has been broken for a while- anybody could enter it!!!! The fire alarm testing is supposed to be once a week on a certain day, but ive only experienced this test once or twice. The only positive would be the size of the rooms and the kitchen, but still, the surface spaces for 4 people to share is limited, as is the fridge and bin size.



Not suitable for students. Id only recommend living here if you have your own studio, as they seem a decent size for one person at least. Wasted my maintenance loan on this place. Cant wait to move out

  • 15 Jan 2016
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
The hall's management replied to this review:
Hi, Thanks for leaving your feedback. I am sorry to here you have not enjoyed your time living here. We do have an on site maintenance team who are here to fix any issues you do have. Both the maintenance issues you have listed above sound like day to day repairs which we can fix rapidly at no expense to you all you need to do is log them on your student portal. We do test the fire alarm every Monday at 11:30am for 30 seconds in line with compliance and regulations. If you want to discuss anything else please feel free to get in touch with a member of the management team at derby@freshstudentliving.co.uk or by coming to the office.
Thanks
The Darley Bank Team

maintenance issues

3

Quality of rooms - 4 Fun/Atmosphere - 3 Location - 4
Safety - 4 Management - 3 Value - 3

its a bugger to get maintenance issues sorted, you need to repeat complain. unless you can prove someone is mistreating you they dont believe you. washing machines a bit steep.

  • 30 Nov 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male
  • Would recommend this property

Too many problems

2.5

Quality of rooms - 2.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 2.5 Location - 4.5
Safety - 3.5 Management - 1.5 Value - 1.5

After living here for 2 years I can't tell you how much I regret not moving out after the first year. The price was increased, meaning Student loan doesnt fully cover the total amount paid (as its 3 bulk payments across the year). There always seems to be an issue with the water, either no water, or no hot water. At one stage the water was off for over 24 hours, and no one seemed too bothered about getting it fixed quickly. Yes the rooms are very nice and spacious, the kitchens are great and really sociable. But its just not worth the money. You are treated like a child by management, and security are often very rude. Also the heat is unbearable, as the windows dont open and there is no air con, as soon as it gets even the slightest bit warm outside, the flats are insanely hot. Would definitely advise not living here.

  • 11 Jul 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

The best student accommodation in Derby.

4.5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 5 Location - 5
Safety - 5 Management - 5 Value - 4.5

The flats are extremely spacious and modern. The staff are really friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Having security on site makes me feel safe at all times of the day. The overall building and site is attractive and has a real sense of community between residents and staff.

  • 30 Jun 2015
  • Hannah
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Review of Darley Bank

4

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 4
Safety - 4.5 Management - 4.5 Value - 4

Good staff, very friendly and helpful.



Good sized rooms and good quality.

  • 30 Jun 2015
  • Chantal
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Darley Bank

4.5

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 5 Location - 5
Safety - 4 Management - 4.5 Value - 4

.

  • 30 Jun 2015
  • Laura
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

.

3.5

Quality of rooms - 4 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 4.5
Safety - 4.5 Management - 4 Value - 3.5

.

  • 30 Jun 2015
  • Maria
  • CYPRUS
  • Female

Possibly the worst student accommodation in Derby

1

Quality of rooms - 2.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 1 Location - 3
Safety - 3 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

It's getting to the point now where, all people living here are experiencing problem after problem after problem. I'm sure everyone will agree that problems do happen, and that the management can't control all of them. However, if we are expected to pay reasonably high rent in exchange for living here we deserve a much better quality of service. That means when problems do happen they are acted upon promptly. It means measures are put into place so that the problems that do happen don't happen again. It means that when a flat needs a new cooker because on day 1 in September it doesn't work, that one is ordered and fitted faster than 6 weeks. It means that when the sewage pipes get blocked after only 1 year of use, they are fixed without blaming the current residents for blocking it. It means that the security staff are pleasant to the residents. It means that people are not extorted to pay for "damage" to the flats, like £300 for the smallest rip on the cheapest sofa in history. It means that there will be more than 8 vacuum cleaners available for a residency of over 400 people. It means that the management should be understanding to their customers, instead of asking for rent before they get their student finance payments.

If I were to list all the problems that have happened since September, I would be here all day. I’m sure many of you reading this that currently live here will name a few I have missed too. This is, quite frankly, unacceptable. Many people who have been affected by more problems than I are thinking about or are already demanding compensation. I personally know a fair few who really deserve this too. What is starting to get me thinking is in a few months time, most of us will be moving out. From what a few people who were living here last year have told me is that Darley Bank management will be using, what most reasonable people will call natural wear and tear as an excuse to not pay back 100% of the deposit back to us. I don’t mean real damage to furniture or appliances, I mean light marks to walls at most. You know, those white walls which mark easily because they’re white. Using that as an excuse to deduct money from our deposits, while not factoring in the copious amount of problems that have affected us is extremely unfair. This year, it’s fair to say there has been more problems that I would reasonably expect. Therefore if I don’t get my full deposit back at the end, I certainly will be pursuing it, even if it means contacting the deposit protection scheme (if that this where our deposits are held). If they aren’t held there I will contact Derby County Court, and take it as far as I need to go. I’m sure everyone else wants their deposit back too, in full, no excuses.

I would't recommended living in at all really. I read similar reviews before booking last year and dismissed them. A part of my wished I would have taken them seriously. If you are reading this and you have already booked a room, I highly recommend cancelling it, even if that mean losing your £100 deposit. That will save you money in the long run trust me. Book into halls or other private accommodation if you have such as Brookside just up the road. This is a nice looking place, but under the facade it is terrible, and is run terrible to.

  • 29 Apr 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male

Not bad but need to sort out management

4

Quality of rooms - 4.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 5
Safety - 3.5 Management - 2.5 Value - 4

The rooms are amazing (bit pricey but worth it for the room, desk and ensuites for all) and it's really close to town. However, complaints are not dealt with brilliantly, hence the 50% for management. They're great when no complaints are happening but as soon as the plumbing goes wrong (only twice this year) or your rent is slightly late, they're not the easiest to talk to.

Safety is good but I feel like it could be better. The nighttime shift security are lovely though, they sort out problems and make you feel better.

It's not a loud place, the occasional party but it's really not as loud as normal University of Derby halls. I can get a lot of work done here as the WiFi is fab too.

Just save your pennies if you're going to live here, it's £2.70 for a single wash!

  • 28 Apr 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Would not Recommend...

2

Quality of rooms - 3.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 1 Location - 4.5
Safety - 0.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 1

Completely dissapointed with the overall experience here. It is on paper the most beautiful place to stay, its gated, its managed (has someone here 24hrs a day) and the staff are pleasant. But the people who are above the staff make this place hardly worth staying in. When i first came here, we had several student reps that were helpful, friendly and just generally made the place (and moving away from home) bearable. Within a month or two, all of them had been let go, and we went from having 5 or 6 people to call when things went wrong to having one, and the one was often just a security guard who never seemed to be able to handle the problems when they appeared. I am by no means saying that what you see on the pictures isnt what you get, because the rooms are very big, and the kitchens are just incredible, but there have been countless problems due to the fact that this place looks incredible, but might as well have been built with plastic for the amount of things that break or go wrong over the year. Personally, I am overly careful, and when it comes to avoiding damage, im very good, but there are a lot of unsatisfied people here that when things have gone wrong, really haven't been helped. (Things that have broken include internet, hot water, and at one torrid point, no water at all) I really do believe that the staff who work on site do their best and that they are not to blame, but the termination of the student reps, along with the fact that we are left with a security guard who only now seems to know what to do when things go badly (previously the guard rang a former student rep who ended up calming the situation on more than one occasion) I would like to say overall, that for the money that Darley Bank costs, there is absolutely no way that I would advise people staying here next year, this being said, If they were to actually have enough staff to deal with situations, then I feel my review would have been much different. I am not, and was not a student rep, but am someone very annoyed with the lack of common sense shown my higher management who got rid of people that were both useful and also actual students who were on our level and actually living through the problems themselves.

  • 28 Apr 2015
  • DBD
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male

Don't waste your time.

0.5

Quality of rooms - 1 Fun/Atmosphere - 1 Location - 2
Safety - 1.5 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

Darley Bank offers nothing but problem after problem. If you wish to be treated like a child, have your views pushed aside and left unresolved then feel free to move here. The management are as wet as a blanket and have no key managerial skills whatsoever. and when you think thats bad and that they can't deal with your problems? nope head office and the regional manager are on the same level. rude, arrogant and not helpful in the slightest. the place i agree looks lovely, but as soon as you're committed and moved in then thats when you see the real Darley bank! cheaply made, bashed up quickly, ikea flat packs, and definitely over priced. I wish someone had told me just how bad the place was before I moved in as this year has been hell, and that is not an over exaggeration. Seriously DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!

  • 28 Apr 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

I love it!

5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 5 Location - 5
Safety - 4.5 Management - 5 Value - 4.5

Close to uni and town aswell as most of the other uni halls so always close to friends and shops! There have been issues in the past but these are out of anyone's control and have been sorted as soon as possible, I personally was affected by a flood at the start of my first year but was provided with food in the common room for the few hours we were unable to be in our flats. Everywhere is gonna have its problems but the other 99.9% of the time the place is fun, modern and lively! The price is slightly more than uni halls but when you think about the quality you understand why! Got a good size ensuite, a double bed, sofas in the living area, that's a lot more than most halls offer! Get a friend to show you round or if you don't know anyone the staff at reception will happily book you in for a viewing! I have booked for my 3rd year and couldn't be more excited!

  • 01 Apr 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Save your money.

2

Quality of rooms - 1.5 Fun/Atmosphere - 2 Location - 2
Safety - 0.5 Management - 2 Value - 1

1. Your rent is due before student loans are paid. If you pay late, you are fined.
2. The plumbing is so dodgy, floods are a frequent problem.
3. Fresh Student Living do not care about the welfare of those living in Darley Bank. When there is a problem, they will blame their customers.
4. There is only one fire escape, and this is often not working.
5. On the weekends, there is only one member of staff. And it's a security guard employed from another company.
6. Rooms are not properly repaired before you move in.
7. Did I mention you need to pay rent when you don't have money? And that you're charged £25 for every day you're late paying?
8. AND THAT I WAS ADVISED TO GET A BANK LOAN TO COVER MY RENT.
9. Seriously don't live here.
10. Just don't.

If you want to be skint, soggy and get treated like an animal by an evil corporation, this is the place for you! If not, RUN.

  • 31 Mar 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Male

Great

5

Quality of rooms - 5 Fun/Atmosphere - 4 Location - 5
Safety - 4 Management - 5 Value - 4

Darley Bank is situated continently within walking distance of both Univeristy and Town.
The Rooms are all furnished to a good standard, much better than what you'd get in halls.
The Management Team are always onside to deal with any issues or answer any questions.
Security Staff are on site whenever the Management a Team are not there.
There's plenty of people living there to make friends with people, even if you don't live with them.
Looking forward to spending my 3rd year living in Darley Bank

  • 31 Mar 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female
  • Would recommend this property

Dont live here

1.5

Quality of rooms - 2 Fun/Atmosphere - 0.5 Location - 3.5
Safety - 1 Management - 0.5 Value - 0.5

was really looking forward to living here as it looks lovely, the damage that was done to our flat that had not been repaired, we would have been charged over £2000, yet they thought it was acceptable to move us in like that. when to head office and got no where with it.
management is poor and patronising and sarcastic and nobody soeak to anyone, but this is okay if you are not a first year, washing is expensive and the whole flat itself is expensive for what you get, not good value for money at all
I dont normally do this but people need to know that this is a bad place to live

  • 31 Mar 2015
  • Anonymous
  • UNITED KINGDOM
  • Female

We want to know your opinion!

Overall *
Quality of rooms *
Fun/Atmosphere*
Location *
Safety *
Management *
Value *
Review Title *
First name *       Anonymous
Nationality *
Age*
Sex *
Male   Female
University Email address *  (so we can verify you’re a real student)
tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3 tab3tab3tab3tab3
Darley Bank, Derby

Property Description :

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

done

Type Price /
Per Week
Start date length of stay
(weeks)
Deposit amount Availability Book
Bedroom Ensuite £0.00 £0.00 SOLD OUT Book Now

HALLBOOKER'S DESCRIPTION

Darley Bank student accommodation provides an engaging exterior appearance and a stylish interior with fully furnished rooms. Shops, cafes and transportation are nearby.

Overall Rating
3.5577
  • Quality of rooms
    3.76925
  • Fun/Atmosphere
    3.3269
  • Location
    4.3654
  • Safety
    3.71155
  • Management
    3.46155
  • Value
    3.0769